The Promise of Sex

A novella of Singapore

Coming soon

Are we ever happy enough?

One evening in the nineties in London, Ben and Lynn met and decided to spend the rest of their lives together. Now, twenty years later, Lynn and Ben are still in love. The couple live in tropical Singapore, where affluent Black expatriates are still a rarity. Lynn is in her sixties and retired and Ben, now forty, is a successful professional.

One evening in the nineties in London, Ben andLynn met and decided to spend the rest of their lives together. Now, twentyyears later, Lynn and Ben are still in love. The couple live in tropicalSingapore, where affluent Black expatriates are still a rarity. Lynn is in hersixties and retired and Ben, now forty, is a successful professional.

The couple are the envy of their friends and to Ben, Lynn remains as beautiful and alluring as the day he met her and he knows her every idiosyncrasy. However, as Lynn watches him approach middle age, she finds herself beset with a gnawing feeling that eats away at her contentment, a restlessness that incessantly suggests an alternative life and hints at an elusive freedom. Her restlessness is made all the more unbearable by her husband’s dependability and devotion.

Set in the world of affluent expatriates in Singapore, this novella follows Lynn and Ben as they grapple with the conflict between love and liberty and the concessions they make to remain together.

For fans of Diana Evans, Ian McEwan and Leesa Cross-Smith.